We are pleased to invite you to participate in the 36th European Conference on Surface Science (ECOSS 36) which will be held 28 Aug - 1 Sep 2023 in Lodz, Poland, organized by the University of Lodz.


ECOSS is a well-established annual meeting directed jointly by the Surface Science Division of the International Union for Vacuum Science, Technique and Applications (IUVSTA) and the Surface and Interface Section of the European Physical Society (EPS).

The conference provides an excellent opportunity for scientists from Europe and from all over the world to meet and discuss the latest advances in the physics and chemistry of surfaces. Furthermore, it is a forum to discuss the progress of surface science in related innovation fields such as heterogeneous catalysis, organic molecular nano-architectures, two-dimensional materials and graphene, nanoelectronics, bio-nanoscience and functional and energy materials studied both using theoretical and experimental methods.

Previous editions of the ECOSS conference took place at the University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg (Conference Chair: Professor Ludger Wirtz, ECOSS 35) and at the Scandinavian Congress Centre, Aarhus, Denmark (Conference Chair: Professor Liv Hornekær, ECOSS 34).

Conference e-mail: ecoss36@uni.lodz.pl


More speakers will be announced soon

Foto: C.-M. Müller


prof. Klaus von Klitzing
(The 1985 Nobel Prize in Physics)
discovery of quantum Hall effect


prof. Yury Gogotsi
co-discoverer of MXenes; energy storage, supercapacitors;
water treatment; biomedicine

Photo: The Royal Society


prof. Michelle Simmons
Silicon Quantum Computing


prof. Christian Nijhuis
Molecular Electronics

© ullstein bild - Martin Lengemann/WELT


Prof. Beatriz Roldán Cuenya

Foto: nanolab


Prof. Cristiana Di Valentin
Theoretical aspects of reactions on surfaces


Mini-symposia expression of interest (extended): January 22, 2023
Abstract submission open: March 13, 2023
Registration open: March 13, 2023
Abstract submission close: May 14, 2023
Notification of abstract acceptance: June 16, 2023
Early bird registration: July 7, 2023
Regular registration close: August 11, 2023


  • Martin Allen, University of Canterbury, New Zealand
  • Tadeusz Balcerzak, University of Lodz, Poland
  • András Berkó (ECOSS-33 chair), University of Szeged, Hungary
  • Guang Bian, University of Missouri, USA
  • Carla Bittencourt (ECOSS Board), University of Mons, Belgium
  • Louise Bradley, Trinity College Dublin, Irleand
  • Camilla Coletti, Istituto Italiano di Tecnologia, Italy
  • Piotr Cyganik, Jagiellonian University, Poland
  • Ulrike Diebold, TU Wien, Vienna, Austria
  • Roman Fasel, Swiss Federal Laboratories for Materials Science and Technology, Switzerland
  • Adam Foster, Aalto University, Finland
  • Martin Gmitra, Pavol Jozef Šafárik University in Košice, Slovakia
  • Georg Held, Diamond Light Source, United Kingdom
  • Agnieszka Iwan, Military Institute of Engineering Technology, Poland
  • Pavel Jelinek, Czech Academy of Science, Czech Republic
  • Jacek Kołodziej, Jagiellonian University, Poland
  • Michalis Konsolakis, Technical University of Crete, Greece
  • Marko Kralj (ECOSS board), Institute of Physics Zagreb, Croatia
  • Yuji Kuwahara, Osaka University, Japan
  • Mikołaj Lewandowski, Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznań, Poland
  • Edvin Lundgren, Lund University, Sweden
  • Enn Lust, University of Tartu, Estonia
  • Oleg Malyshev, UKRI/STFC Daresbury Laboratory, United Kingdom
  • Luísa Margarida Martins, Universidade de Lisboa, Portugal
  • Martin McCoustra (ECOSS Board), Heriot-Watt University, United Kingdom
  • Milorad Milosevic, University of Antwerp, Belgium
  • Roberto Otero, Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Spain
  • Marek Potemski, Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique, France
  • Petra Rudolf (ECOSS-27 chair), University of Groningen, Netherlands
  • Jagoda Sławińska, University of Groningen, Netherlands
  • Sefik Suzer (ECOSS-30 chair), Bilkent University, Turkey
  • Krzysztof Szot, University of Silesia, aixACCT Systems GmbH, Poland, Germany
  • Amina Taleb Ibrahimi (ECOSS Board), Synchrotron SOLEIL, France
  • Petra Tegeder, Universität Heidelberg, Germany
  • Michael Urbakh, Tel Aviv University, Israel
  • Justin Wells, University of Oslo, Norway
  • Ludger Wirtz (ECOSS-35 chair), University of Luxemburg, Luxemburg
  • Andrzej Wysmołek, University of Warsaw, Poland
  • Ilona Zasada, University of Lodz, Poland
  • Mariusz Zdrojek, Warsaw University of Technology, Poland


Located in the center of Poland, Lodz rapidly developed in the 19th century, when monumental factories of the textile industry and hundreds of Art Nouveau palaces and city villas were built.

Today, Lodz is an important academic and cultural center, with many public spaces located in modernly rebuilt post-industrial areas. As a place of unique history and cultural mix, with its excellent food and entertainment, Lodz will certainly allow to experience far beyond the scientific program of the Conference.

It is not a coincidence that the city has been selected by National Geographic Traveler as one of the “Best of the World 2022” destinations.



ECOSS-36 will include a number of mini-symposia, consisting of parallel sessions organized and curated (selection of topic and speakers) by a specialist who will also chair the session. We are looking for interested candidates to become mini-symposia organizers (we particularly encourage scientists in their early- to mid- stage of their careers). More information here: www.ecoss36.uni.lodz.pl/mini-symposia.